top of page

ISIMS Board Members

The first IMS workshop was held in 1992 and the ISIMS was founded as a Scholarly Society in 1996. ISIMS quickly evolved into a diverse community, with members from more than 15 countries. Yet it remains a close-knit society, and maintains a relaxed tone in our conferences. Members from academia, government and industry, and across career stages have equal voice. 

We strive to reflect the composition of our membership in session chairs, poster judges, working groups, and the Board of Directors.  While the policy-making body of the Society is the Board of Directors, the driving force and the most important part of the Society is, as it always has been, our members. 

Hartwig Schmidt  

Rapiscan Systems, USA

President Elect    
Brian Hauck

U.S. Army CCDC Chemical Biological Center, USA

Past President  

Maggie Tam    

Canada Border Services Agency,



Peter Fowler

GP Ionics LLC, USA

Membership officer

Alex Hill

Defence Science & Technology Lab, Fort Halstad, UK

Tom Limero  
KBRwyle/NASA Johnson Space Center, USA

Brian Clowers    
Washington State University, USA

Osmo Anttalainen    
Olfactomics Oy, Finland


Sponsorship Liaison    
Lourdes Arce  
University of Cordoba, Spain


Nomination Officer 
Andreas Walte  
Airsense Analytics GmbH, Germany

Technical program Officer  

Alexander Bohnhorst

ACKISION GmbH, Germany

Twitter: @AlexanderBohnh1     


Alexander Haack

Leibniz University Hannover, Germany


Juliane Gottwald

Christian-Albrechts-University Kiel, Department of Pathology, Germany


Ansgar Kirk

ACKISION GmbH, Germany


Fuminori Misaizu

Tohoku University, Japan

Advisory Panel:
Steve Harden
U.S. Army CCDC Chemical Biological Center, USA

Gary Eiceman
New Mexico State University, USA

Paul Thomas

Vince McHugh
U.S. Army CCDC Chemical Biological Center (retired), USA

Pierre Pilon
Canada Boarder Services Agency (retired), Canada

Robert Ewing    
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA

Herb Hill  

Washington State University (Emeritus), USA

Wolfgang Vautz  

ION-GAS GmbH, Germany

Hilary Bollan

MBE United Kindom Ministry of Defence (Retired), UK

Any participation of a board member employed by a government entity does not constitute an endorsement of the Society by that member's government.

bottom of page