top of page

ISIMS Board Members

The first IMS workshop was held in 1992 and the ISIMS was founded as a Scholarly Society in 1996. ISIMS quickly evolved into a diverse community, with members from 15 countries attending the most recent conference. Yet it remains a small society, and maintains a relaxed tone in our conferences. Members from academia, government and industry have equal voice. 

We strive to reflect the composition of our membership in session chairs, poster judges, working groups, and the Board of Directors. We have a student serving as a Board Member, and this is the third time we have a female president (Hilary Bollan first served as President in 2007). While the policy-making body of the Society is the Board of Directors, the driving force and the most important part of the Society is, as it always has been, our members. 

Maggie Tam    
Canada Border Services Agency, Canada


President Elect    
Hartwig Schmidt  
Rapiscan Systems, USA


Past President  
Wolfgang Vautz  
Leibniz Institure for Analytital Sciences (ISAS) & ION-GAS GmbH, Germany
Brian Hauck
U.S. Army CCDC Chemical Biological Center, USA

Membership officer
Hilary Bollan MBE    
United Kindom Ministry of Defence (Retired), UK

Tom Limero  
KBRwyle/NASA Johnson Space Center, USA

Brian Clowers    
Washington State University, USA


Osmo Anttalainen    
Olfactomics Oy, Finland


Sponsorship Liaison    
Lourdes Arce  
University of Cordoba, Spain


Nomination Officer 
Andreas Walte  
Airsense Analytics GmbH, Germany

Technical program Officer    
Paul Rauch    
Chemiring Detection Systems, USA


Ching Wu    
Excellims, USA
Alex Hill    
Defence Science & Technology Lab, Fort Halstad, UK

Alexander Bohnhorst
Leibniz University Hannover, Germany
Twitter: @AlexanderBohnh1

Haiyang Li
Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, China

Ex officio members:
Steve Harden
U.S. Army CCDC Chemical Biological Center, USA

Gary Eiceman
New Mexico State University, USA

Paul Thomas
Loughborough University, UK


Vince McHugh
U.S. Army CCDC Chemical Biological Center (retired), USA

Pierre Pilon
Canada Boarder Services Agency (retired), Canada

Robert Ewing    
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA

Herb Hill  

Washington State University (Emeritus), USA

2019 Conference Organizer
Stefan Zimmerman
Leibniz University Hannover, Germany


Any participation of a board member employed by a government entity does not constitute an endorsement of the Society by that member's government.

bottom of page